December 1, 1959

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Signing-Australia.jpg

Antarctica shall be used for peaceful purposes only.

The Antarctic Treaty was signed in The United States of America in the District of Columbia, Washington, on December 1, 1959 by the twelve

countries whose scientists had been active in and around Antarctica during the International Geophysical Year (IGY) of 1957-58.

The Three Main Purposes of the Treaty:

  • To maintain world peace
  • To ensure freedom of scientific investigation of Antarctica
  • To make scientific observations and results from Antarctica more easily exchangeable and available
-Ride Tight.